Skip to main content Skip to secondary navigation

Taking Care of Ourselves & Each Other

Health & Well-Being

James W. Lyons Award

Main content start

The James W. Lyons Award for Service was established in 1981 and named in honor of the late Jim Lyons who served as Stanford's dean of student affairs from 1972-1990. This annual award recognizes and honors current students of the Stanford community for their exceptional service and contributions made through a variety of departments, teams, clubs, residences and community projects on and off-campus.


The award highlights contributions that are above and beyond conventional levels of dedication, in areas or situations of extraordinary need, and that result in substantial, positive change.

From left to right in the image: Tina Wong, Emma Kaeli, Arnob Das, Sasankh Munukutla, Marianna Yunjia Zhang, Jamie M. Fine, Juan Carlos Kyle Becerra Jr., Glen Husman. Credit: Anthony Chen / Ethography

Twelve Students Receive the 2022-23 James W. Lyons Award for Service

The annual honor goes to undergraduate and graduate students who demonstrate extraordinary commitment to service to and on behalf of Stanford University.

Past Awardees

2022 Awardees

Teiana Gonsalves, Norris Johnson, Caelin Marum, Keoni Rodriguez, Melody Yang, Danielle Greene, CoCo Massengale, Skylar Baker, Brooke Forde, Joel Johnson, Nirvikalpa Natarajan, Emily Schell

2020 & 2021 Awardees

Kiara Bacasen, Kylee Beck, Marilyn Frank, Jade Goodwill, Ana Cabrera, Bella Cooper, Tamara Morris, Amy Fan, Celine Foster, Antonia Hellman, Ayinwi Muma, Adam Nayak David Pantera, Jordan Smart

2019 Awardees

Tami Alade, Walker Brown, Courtney Cooperman, Dulcie Head, Shanta Katipamula, Will Paisley, Cat Sanchez, Grayson Throckmorton

2018 Awardees

Tina Cheuk, Pau Guinart, Katie Hufker, Zina Jawadi, Jasmine Mueller-Hsia, Harrison Phillips, Carson Olivia James Smith, Tesay Yusef

2017 Awardees

Andrew Barakat, Sophie Clark, Mark Moeremans, Joey Nelson, Princess Umodu, Johnny Xu, Lily Zheng

2016 Awardees

Gabriel Badica, Sarah A. Sadlier, Kunal Sangani, Lauren E. Wedekind

2015 Awardees

Adam Louis Horowitz, Gabriella Momah, Christina Alberto Leal, Julie Y. Huang, William Jacques Fowler, Brian H. Cheung, Alfred Wayne Delena, Jessie Duan