Skip to main content Skip to secondary navigation

Taking Care of Ourselves & Each Other

Health & Well-Being

2023-24 James W. Lyons Award for Service. Credit: Thomas Yim/Ethography

Eight Students Receive the 2023-24 James W. Lyons Award for Service

Main content start

The annual honor goes to undergraduate and graduate students who demonstrate extraordinary commitment to service to and on behalf of Stanford University. This year’s recipients of the James W. Lyons Award for Service were honored by the Division of Student Affairs at a dinner event held May 30 at Tresidder Memorial Union. 

Decorative accent featuring eight dots representing the eight Neighborhood colors.

More About James W. Lyons Award for Service

The award highlights contributions that are above and beyond conventional levels of dedication, to areas of extraordinary need, through engagement with departments, teams, clubs, residences, and community projects on and off-campus.

Jim W. Lyons served as Stanford's dean of student affairs from 1972 to 1990. He created a legacy of programs to enhance the educational experiences of students, establish student communities, and shape policies affecting student life. In 1981, he introduced the Dean’s Award for Service, and after he retired, Stanford renamed the honor as the James W. Lyons Award for Service.

Below are this year’s recipients as well as the full citations for each student.

James W. Lyons pattern-style portrait, 2024. Image credit: Chuck Painter Background credit: Marje / iStock